Advertisement. For information about purchasing ads, please click here.


Anchorage Assembly Certifies Election – Elects New Chair and Vice-Chair

Last night the Anchorage Assembly voted to certify the recent Anchorage municipal election. It was the first vote-by-mail election conducted in Anchorage. The Municipal Clerk, Barbara Jones, answered questions from Assembly members about the election. While a few minor issues were addressed, the overall sentiment is the election was a great success. The election saw the highest voter participation ever in an Anchorage municipal election. The Assembly voted to 11-0 to certify the election.

After, the Assembly voted to elect a new Chair and Vice-Chair. There were two nominations for chair, Forrest Dunbar and longtime Assembly member Dick Traini. Dunbar was elected as the new Chair. Dunbar has served as Vice-Chair for the last year. Eric Croft was elected Vice-Chair, no one else was nominated for that position.

Recently, a number of longtime Assembly members have been termed out or not run for re-election. The election of Dunbar as Chair signifies a new era of leadership on the Assembly. Dunbar posted this on his official Facebook page earlier in the day before the meeting.

Advertisement. For information about purchasing ads, please click here.

Walker Drygas

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments